July 2017

Call for Nominations for the AIAA SmallSat Mission of the Year Award


2016 Winners of the AIAA SmallSat Mission of the Year Award

The AIAA Small Satellite Technical Steering Committee invites nominations for candidates for this year’s fourth annual SmallSat Mission of the Year Award by Friday, August 4th. Please email kcahoy@mit.edu directly with your nomination (use subject: Mission of the Year 2017), or if you would like to submit recommendations anonymously, please use:<https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/MNTN56Q>.
The AIAA SmSTC Small Satellite Mission of the Year Award is awarded annually to the mission that demonstrates a significant improvement in the capability of small satellites. Eligible missions will have launched, established communication, and acquired initial results from on-orbit since January 1, 2016. Eligible missions must have individual satellite wet mass of ~100 kg. “Significant improvement” includes innovations in: spacecraft structural design, scientific instrument development, communications capability, attitude determination and control capability, intersatellite coordination, constellation or cluster management, onboard computing, and others. The panel of judges may allow missions with earlier launch dates that had delayed ISS deployments or extensive on-orbit checkout periods to qualify on a case-by-case basis.
Note that there are fields where you may write in nominees that were not included on the list. The following databases may be useful:

1) https://sites.google.com/a/slu.edu/swartwout/home/cubesat-database

2) http://www.klofas.com/comm-table/

3) http://space.skyrocket.de/doc_sat/cubesat.htm
The Technical Steering Committee will use nominations to generate a short list of finalists. The finalists will be notified and contribute to their mission description on the voting page that will be live at the opening of The SmallSatellite Conference (August 5-11, 2017). The SmallSat organizers will send an e-mail to conference attendees starting at the Pre-Conference Workshop with a link to the final voting webpage, asking the community to vote and rank the finalists. Voting will close at 11:59 pm on Wednesday, August 9th, and the winner will be announced at the Conference on Thursday, August 10th.
Your nominations will help us to capture the exciting innovations and achievements of the Small Satellite community, communicating the cutting-edge efforts of recent and ongoing missions and leading to interesting discussions that educate both the experts and the newcomers to the community.